Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

School

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 luciusad2004

luciusad2004

• Members
  • 65 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:36 PM

Posted 16 August 2006 - 09:15 PM

Hello all. I graduated from highschool this year and wanted to go to college. I really want to persue some sort of degree in computer programing but i have no clue how to go about finding a decent school. I imagine prospective employers would want someone from a school with a good background. The problem is i dont really know how to find a decent school, and on top of that i want to find one in my area. I know i probably shouldnt let my personal life affect this decision but Im finally happy with my life and im not ready to walk away from it

I guess what i really want to know is, is there anyone out there who has gone through this and has any advice or suggestions on how to go about finding a decent school. And how much does the school i come from affect what jobs might or might not be open to me.

Also is there anyone out there in computer programing career? How do you like it? Whats it like? The only experience ive had so far is some c++ in highschool, and a tiny bit of visual basic. What all is expected of you and what other tasks might you be expected to be capable of handling.