Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Remote Access SCAMMERS Tools left behind. Can someone here analyze them?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Iam1nsan3

Iam1nsan3

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:04 PM

Posted 20 August 2016 - 07:28 AM

Hello,

I am a Desktop Support Technician, today 20th August 2016 attended a call for someone who thought that they had been Scammed.

The short answer is Yes, big time.

The Scammer had removed users paid for AV and replaced with Vipre AV. But he also left 5 executables on the Desktop which he had yet to set up. He tried this while I was there and after me calling him a low life and that he was busted and a bit more I told him not to call this number again and I hung up on him.

He had already hacked the web browser and had managed to withdraw $10000 from this pensioners bank account in the 12 hours since he called.

2 of the exe's have the following in the file description exif data.

"Terminates malware processes so that you can run your normal security programs." Bleeping Computer.com. Original name RKill.exe.

These exe's are named "Banking Protection" and "Firewall", same file.  There is also "WiFi Protection" and "NET BLOCKER". The EXIF data on the last 2 files in empty. The last file is ATF-Cleaner, which he probably uses to clean after himself.