Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie help creating a back-up in LM 18 (64)

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 PieLam

PieLam

• Members
  • 241 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:23 PM

Posted 10 August 2016 - 05:56 PM

Hi everyone!

I just installed Sarah (LM 18) Cinnamon DT (64 bit) and I'm new to Linux, but have used MS-DOS & MS Win for over 25 years...

I'm having an issue with Sarah's built-in "Backup Tool"...  

I started the BU Tool from selecting it from the DT's menu.  I wanted to do a complete system BU that I could rely on if I ever needed it.  I also knew that this was the first time ever that I used this tool.

Not being sure on how to proceed, I successfully (so, it seems) used this app to BU "Root" to my external HDD (I know this drive has plenty of free space)

The tool seemed to BU /root successfully.  Only thing is, it performed this BU very fast (under 1 min.)  Because it did this so fast, I had a hard time believing that it was fully successful. So, using the file manager, I checked the file that the tool created.  It was only about 350kb. 

I thought this could explain the swiftness of the operation.  So I felt somewhat relieved & trusted the process more...  I accepted it as probably OK.