Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Anti-Virus Recommendation (First Time User)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 FestersQuest

FestersQuest

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:25 AM

Posted 09 August 2016 - 09:31 PM

Hello,

I've never used anti-virus before. I don't know why, I guess I never thought about it on Windows XP. Now that I have Windows 7 Home Premium, I want to get something. I've been researching as much as I can, but I could use some advice.

Right now, the only thing I have is the Windows 7 firewall and Zemana anti-malware [Free edition]. I really like both and they work well for me.

I tried Bitdefender's free antivirus and I had so many problems:

1) Couldn't use ctrl+shift+esc to open my task manager. I have no idea why that happened, but after I uninstalled it, it worked fine.

2) When I tried to shut down my PC, it would just freeze.

I really liked the program otherwise, but it just didn't work for me.

I've checked out the av comparison sites and based on everything I've read, it's between Kaspersky and ESET (paid antivirus).

Also, I've been thinking about adding hitmanpro.alert (that's the paid version) as a main malware defender and have Zemana be the passive defense. I'm not sure though.

I'm hoping someone could give their personal recommendation.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DefaultGateway