Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Default gateway doesn't appear in ARP table; DHCP does assign IP address

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tchap199

tchap199

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:21 AM

Posted 07 August 2016 - 11:53 AM

Hi all, this is my first time posting on one of these forums so I apologize if I leave out any necessary information:

Computer make/model: HP Envy dv7
Wi-Fi adapter: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485
Router type: Arris DG1670A
AV software: Avast Free

In the middle of the day yesterday my laptop lost the ability to connect to the Internet via the Wifi in my apartment building. It connects to other Wifi networks no problem, including an iPhone hotspot and public coffee shop Wifi; also, my other devices, including iPhone and Roku, have no trouble connecting to the Wifi in my building. So the problem is only between my laptop and this particular wifi router.

DHCP on this router does assign my laptop an IP address (192.168.0.11); the default gateway (192.168.0.1) and subnet mask (255.255.255.0) that my laptop receives are the same ones that my iPhone and other devices that connected successfully receive. But pinging the default gateway returns either (most commonly) a "Request timed out" or (occassionally) "Destination host unreachable."