Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Nvidia driver freezing the computer while playing or causing BSOD

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Nori-chan

Nori-chan

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:28 AM

Posted 07 August 2016 - 02:15 AM

Hello everyone.

It's my first time here in the forums, nice to meet you all!

Now, the problems: As in the title, everytime I play games that use the Nvidia card, sometimes (kinda rarely) it freezes the computer, and I have to do a cold reboot to use the computer again.

Another possible way is while the game is open, if you try to watch a video on youtube (in firefox, that doesn't use the dedicated graphics) or if the UAC pops up, it sometimes causes an BSOD (I don't remember the error message, sorry).

I already tried to:

- Reinstall the drivers from Nvidia

- Update the integrated graphics driver, but I can't (the error was that I have to use the manufacturer drivers, but they didn't updated the drivers for  months).

I will upload both files that was asked in the pinned topic.

Info about this computer:

- OS: Windows 10 Education 64-bits (updated, with the Anniversary Update)

- Original OS installed: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bits

- I removed the OS that came installed and installed Windows 10 Education

- Age of the hardware: 2 years

- CPU: Intel core i5 4200U