Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My Vista Home P. Machine has been compromised so I will start in this forum firs

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 nlb90805

nlb90805

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:05 PM

Posted 05 August 2016 - 06:27 PM

[Long Story Long (for Gen Xer's) or T.M.I (for Millenials)]
I am a computer tech by trade but I rarely have to deal with Malicious Content Extraction on Windoows OS's Depending on where I work. Internally we will have very secure Network Security Appliances and such. And more times than not I will be working for an organization that is several domains deep from the outside facing IPv4 addresses with a security expert taking care of ACL's, Group Policies, PIX boxes, Network Appliances or whatever Cisco calls them now. Since we always have roaming profiles with H:\ Home Drives we just wipe the infected system clean with some type of DoD Wipe and use an image server to apply a fresh install that is syspred(ed). Thus I rarely ever need to dig deep within the command line investigating with commands like NET, NETSH, WMIC etc! So lots of that is new to me. Further since I'm generally the guy responding to trouble ticket's I never touch Group Policies Servers, Permissions\Privileges\ACLs and such, it just wasn't my job and further more people don't want to show the 'underl