Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ordering new business laptop

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jkesselr

jkesselr

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:30 PM

Posted 27 July 2016 - 07:47 PM

Alright guys, I am a newb with limited technical knowledge. I am looking to spec out a new laptop for my business which is comprised of largely clerical work utilizing the MS Office suite. There is heavy internet usage, some large spreadsheet manipulation, large powerpoint presentations and some video playback. I need a machine that is lightning fast and absolutely reliable. It also has to have the ability to mount to a true docking station, as opposed to one of those USB contraptions. As a small business, I don't have unlimited funds, but anticipate spending $2000-$3000 on a new laptop. I cannot afford to get it wrong the first time though guys.

I have a tendency to buy bleeding edge tried and true technology to ensure that it is not only stable, but relevant for the longest duration possible. The machine I am replacing is a Dell Latitude D630 that I upgraded heavily when I purchased it. It has been an absolute workhorse for me for nearly ten years now. It is time to put it out to pasture and replace it with a newer and better machine that hopefully will give me similar reliability results.