Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Clone / repair hard drive w/ bad sectors using backup drive and ddrescue?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DChronos

DChronos

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 18 July 2016 - 08:35 PM

Hi, I need help with something very important that I'm very new at doing that I'd rather not try manually with a hex editor first if I can have it done for me and see if it works.

Here's the situation... I have an old computer with a hard disk that got knocked over and the heads must have crashed onto the platter because it suddenly made about 1400 bad sectors in a single spot near the beginning of the hard drive, right amidst the old windows XP program files.  The MBR is fine, the $MFT is fine (and its backup is far from the bad sectors) and the boot sector can be repaired.

What I have:

- Source drive with bad sectors

- Replacement drive of the exact same make and model (after I image the OS from that), which is error free as well.

- Original drive of this computer which was removed after cloning it to a new drive... saved just in case of this situation

- UBCD 5.5, which I'm going to use Parted Magic from to use ddrescue

What I want to do: