Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

set up of company shared mailbox: best approach

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 reversenotation

reversenotation

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:01 PM

Posted 17 July 2016 - 06:28 PM

Hi

I am not very experienced with this, so apologies for any naivety.

The company where I am working using a postfix mail server to deliver mail.  Internally, a small group of staff (about 4 people) wish to use a shared mailbox focused on an area of interest.   A mail account has been set up for this purpose and on request, a simpler and more memorable name for this account has been added, as an alias for the account.

So on the mail server the alias table looks something like:

Alias       Actual mail account name

comm:  group1communications@domain.com

So I think there are 2 different approaches for this shared mailbox:

1) I could add this group1communications@domain.com account to their Outlook or apple mail client programs, or: 

2) I could change the alias table so that it points to their true email addresses e.g.

Alias       Actual mail account name

comm:  bob1@domain.com, sarah3@domain.com, mike4@domain.com

The latter approach sounds better to me, but any advice and insights would be appreciated as this is rather new.

Many thanks!

John

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 smax013

smax013