Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Motherboard enquiry

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Pugglerock

Pugglerock

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 15 July 2016 - 04:21 AM

Hello,

I have a work PC currently sitting on my desk. I'm not very good with hardware, software is my specialty. The tower block is a HP Pro and that's all I can tell you as I can't get anything on the screens. That is my problem.

I have tried with different monitors, different cables and both the VGA and DVI slot and I do not get any signal when I turn the machine on. On one hand, I think it's the motherboard on the other I think it may just be the slots as the worker who uses this PC said they had trouble with the screen sometimes and now it just doesn't work at all.

As far as I know the machine boots fine, but without any signal on the screens I can't tell.

My question is how can I determine its the motherboard or just the slots? There is a PCI-E X16 slot so I can get a cheap video card and stick it in for the ports and hope it works.

I heard of Breadboarding the board, would this be something worth doing or because I can't get any signal on the screen it wouldn't be worth it?

Edited by hamluis, 15 July 2016 - 11:12 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 smax013

smax013

• BC Advisor
  • 2,329 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:35 PM