Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Tablet implementation into my business

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 niva5171

niva5171

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:41 AM

Posted 13 July 2016 - 02:05 PM

Hello everyone! My name is Nick, and I am a Process Engineer at a small machine shop in Charlotte NC. I have a deli-ma I want to work through, and get your feedback! 

Here is the project background. We are in the process of implementing computers on the shop floor for operators to use to track production, and pull up needed documents. Each computer will need to be able to scan bar-codes, and print as well.

Method 1 (Mine):

My approach is to have set up 15 workstations around the shop floor with keyboard, mouse, label printer (for printing bar-codes), and a bar-code scanner. This will be workstations, either a desktop, or all in one computer (always powered, plugged in to Ethernet). This makes it easy because they can use the printer, and bar-code scanner at any computer they are located at. Operators generally work on multiple machines throughout the day that are located all over the shop. Every work station has 1 printer, and 1 bar-code scanner, and they always stay with that work station.

Method 2 (CEO's):