Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

IP issue with running a web server

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 rjisinspired

rjisinspired

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:44 AM

Posted 11 July 2016 - 09:54 AM

I have been using a web server program since 2004. Recently I changed my modem/router due to an error (651) that  I was having with my ISP. This error would creep up from time to time over years but would usually clear up within hours or maybe up to a day but this ended up not being the case this last time around.

I started up my web server and updated my DYNDNS host, as I have done for the longest time, and I received a “connection refused” web page when trying to access my DYNDNS address. I am not as sure but it seems to me that the IP that is displaying, that gets assigned, is at the router and doesn’t show up in IPCONFIG and my guess is this would be the problem? I am not able to host my files anymore because of this change. Using the DNS name without the port number gains me access to the config of my router! The 192 address is shown many times in IPCONFIG but the net assigned number is not.

This modem/router from my ISP is newer. I never had any issues with running a web server with my other devices but I now cannot use them.