Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Software code - spot the error

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 warrenja1

warrenja1

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:33 AM

Posted 11 July 2016 - 06:47 AM

Hi all,

Our company is in the process of hiring its first software engineer for embedded control systems. I have a lot of experience dealing with software engineers and designing the machine functionality, but I don't have much of a clue about software programming language itself. The control systems we use utilise C/C++.

The below piece of faulty code was given to me to use on test candidates. Can someone tell me what the mistake is here? Thanks.

extern unsigned int ExFunc(unsigned char V);

void MyFunction(unsigned int Value)
{
float Flt;
unsigned int Res;

for(Flt=0; Flt < 10; Flt++)
 Res++;
 ExFunc();

printf("The number is",RES)
return(Res);
}

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 BaconFarmer

BaconFarmer

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:33 AM

Posted 17 July 2016 - 11:37 AM

Hi warrenja1!