Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Black Screen with only Mouse Cursor

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Dizzman

Dizzman

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:03 PM

Posted 09 July 2016 - 11:56 PM

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here so sorry if these are the wrong subforums!

The computer is an prebuilt hp envy h8-1419. 

Last week I went to turn on the family computer and after the boot loading (where you see the HP logo with the loading circle underneath), a black screen appeared with a beep.  I could move the mouse around and it seemed like basic functionality worked (I could turn on voice assistance) but I couldn't get it to load the desktop.  CTRL-ALT-DEL didn't work either.  I did see the power/hdd/cdrom lights on the tower working, but the hdd light was permanently on (not flashing) like it was stuck loading or something.

I tried rebooting a bunch of times and at one point I did get to the desktop, but it was glitched where the taskbar was a faded colour, the windows button didn't work, none of the desktop icons opened, and the right side of the screen had a black bar.  Unfortunately, I shutdown the computer before thinking of trying ctrl-alt-del.  I then tried to plug the desktop into another monitor and the same issue persisted so I doubt it was the graphics card.