Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

AVG has released free decryption for some of the ransomware

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 chalup

chalup

• Members
  • 191 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:10 PM

Posted 06 July 2016 - 09:09 AM

I use AVG cloudcare for business purposes and seen this posted on the forums. I have zero experience with ransomware and these all might already be posted but thought I would still share just incase.

http://now.avg.com/dont-pay-the-ransom-avg-releases-six-free-decryption-tools-to-retrieve-your-files/

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Aura

Aura

Bleepin' Special Ops

• Malware Response Team
  • 19,683 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:10 PM

Posted 06 July 2016 - 09:21 AM

They are late to the game... decrypters for some of these (if not the 6 of these) were released soon after the discovery of samples by Malware Researchers (Fabian Wosar, demonslay, BloodDolly, etc).

unite_blue.png
Security Administrator | Sysnative Windows Update Senior Analyst | Malware Hunter | @SecurityAura
My timezone UTC-05:00 (East. Coast). If I didn't reply to you within 48 hours, please send me a PM.

#3 chalup

chalup
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 191 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:10 PM

Posted 06 July 2016 - 09:31 AM