Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Google Redirect

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 nappsie

nappsie

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:05 AM

Posted 28 June 2016 - 03:43 PM

Hello, this is my first posting and I apologize in advance for my absolute and complete ignorance.  I've been using a computer for many years and I'm an internet SEARCH expert.  That's the beginning and the end to what I'm good at with computers.  In a recent search I apparently picked up what I think is called "google redirect".  I would click on pretty much anything I'd bring up from a google search and would be sent to an antivirus ad or mcafee or microsoft or another random page I did not choose.  I've run everything I could find on Norton as well as Malwarebytes.  Nothing has worked although Malwarebytes did set me up with a 14 day trial that would SOMETIMES stop a redirect.  Anyway, I have tried to switch to Foxfire...which I did but didn't like.  Then tried Opera but it was not recognized by some sites I use so I went back to Foxfire.   As long as I use Foxfire, I am avoiding that redirect that I know is still lurking in the background of this HP Envy m6 which runs on AMD (bout all I know about it).  However, I DO NOT UNDERSTAND why Firefox searches using YAHOO????????? Isn't Firefox a search engine?  I'm so confused.  I would love any answers t