Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

DNS configuration

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 TinoNgombo

TinoNgombo

• Members
  • 80 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:20 PM

Posted 27 June 2016 - 08:35 AM

Greetings, IT pros.

I'm a junior Systems Technician for an IT solutions company here in my country (Angola). We have a few servers: 2 physical and a few virtualized ones, running Windows Server 2012 R2. For now, we're using Server 1 (physical) as the main server and Server 2 (virtual) as the secondary server. Both of them run the DNS role.

Now, the intention is to use Server 2 as the primary DNS server and Server 1 as the secondary DNS server, so that Server 2 can be an authoritative DNS server, instead.

How may I accomplish that? I would love some help from anyone here.

Note: It is a production environment; the servers are currently being used for core tasks and the above DNS configuration intended is urgent.

Regards,

Tino

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 androbourne

androbourne

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:20 AM

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:58 PM

You can use this guide. I've skipped over it and for the most part it is pretty accurate. It will get you to the point you need to be at.

http://blog.hyperexpert.com/how-to-configure-a-secondary-dns-server-in-windows-server-2012/