Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I don't understand Networking

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 DefaultGateway

DefaultGateway

• Members
  • 187 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:50 AM

Posted 18 June 2016 - 12:35 PM

Dear BC Members and Staff,

I want to ask some questions about Networking, because I am not good at it. :(

QUESTION 1

Every website has an IP Address.

So instead of typing www.google.com, I could also type in the IP Address of Google, and then I will get to the website of Google.

To know what the IP is of Google, I open CMD and type "ping google.com", then IP of Google is visible.

And then I type that IP in the Browser, and I will go to Google.

But this does not work with every website??

QUESTION 2

Everyone has a public IP Address.

If I type my own public IP in the Browser, where will I get to?

I think I know the answer to this one, but I want to hear from you guys to verify if I am correct.

QUESTION 3

It's possible to give your own PC a static IP.

What if I put my own public IP as static IP of my PC?

Or what if I just randomly put any public IP as static IP of my PC?

QUESTION 4

It's possible to apply an IP Address on a Router Interface.

What if I apply a public IP Address on it?

Because normally you would use Local IP Addresses.

QUESTION 5

A website has a public IP Address of X.X.X.X.