Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cpu fan quickly reaches a loud level for 2-3 seconds with every small task

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Galaxystarr

Galaxystarr

• Members
  • 66 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:59 PM

Posted 08 June 2016 - 08:10 AM

I got a new cooler master tx3i to replace my i7 3770's stock cooler yesterday. I am noticing when i open up chrome or steam, until the process is complete, my temps go up to a point where my cpu speeds up the fans for 2-3 seconds. It has gotten very annoying. I idle around 35-40 and it goes to 75-ish under full load. Though, prime95 managed to bring it up to 95 itself. I am sure i applied the thermal paste correct, i used the pea method and it's covering a very sizable portion of the cpu.

I am kinda lost because i have no experience with coolers. Everything looks okay after a quick exam but it obviously isn't.

I know my hdd is faulty as it bottlenecks with every small task (Disk at %100), could that be the reason?

My specs:

Intel i7 3770 (non k)

Strix r9 380

8 gigs of Ram