Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Server 2012 r2 software raid

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rosway

rosway

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:29 AM

Posted 13 May 2016 - 09:18 AM

Hi,

I am new to the industry, but have been given a task to do.

I have a Dell server with 4 x 2TB drives

Disk 0 has the Operating system and has one partition (2TB)

From the 4 drives I need to make 2 x 4TB drives and mirror them.

Is this possible with a software raid? and if so are there any tutorials out there?

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Wand3r3r

Wand3r3r

• Members
  • 2,027 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:29 PM

Posted 13 May 2016 - 11:28 AM

Hardware Raid is the preferred raid type.  Does the server have a raid controller?

Rule of thumb for servers is you mirror the OS and raid the Data.

With 5 drives you would either do:

Raid1 for OS and Data on 3 drives in a Raid 5 array

or

Raid1 for OS and Raid1 for Data and a hot spare for both arrays.  This is the preferred configuration, given the criteria, but hot spare is done in hardware raid not software.

You would never not raid the OS since if you lose it you have most likely lost access to the data.

#3 Sneakycyber

Sneakycyber

Network Engineer

• BC Advisor
  • 6,092 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:29 PM

Posted 13 May 2016 - 04:13 PM