Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Ubuntu user

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Andedu

Andedu

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:03 AM

Posted 10 May 2016 - 06:40 AM

Hi I am new to his site.

Can you tell me the advantages of using Dos over other less seasoned operating systems?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 BaronCardinal

BaronCardinal

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:03 AM

Posted 11 May 2016 - 12:03 PM

It seems to me that there needs to be more to this question.  Dos is going to be a fairly antiquated system.  Using it is fine if you understand the limitations.( My three and Five year old kids use it weekly to play older games, on a system that is hard for them to break)  It looks like you are more asking about what system might work well for your needs, and it would be helpful to know more about your expectations.  If you are looking to have a current system, I would say that dos probably won't fulfill all your needs. 

It looks like you are using Ubuntu, by your summary at the top?  If so Ubuntu is a great place to start with Linux, and there is a lot of information and a great support community for it.

#3 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 5,605 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:03 AM

Posted 15 May 2016 - 06:02 PM