Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Ubuntu user

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Andedu

Andedu

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:26 PM

Posted 10 May 2016 - 03:58 AM

I am a total beginner to using Linux.
Why do I need to know how to us the terminal.
What are the first things I will need to know when using the terminal?

Edited by Queen-Evie, 10 May 2016 - 09:23 AM.
moved from Linux How-To and Tutorial Section to Linux & Unix support forum

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,163 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:26 AM

Posted 10 May 2016 - 11:03 AM

Well the thing is.... you really dont need to use the terminal in linux if you dont want to.

The only reason most guides refer to the terminal is that its the most easy to refer to and the terminal is the most universal tool in linux.

Unlike windows there is more than one desktop interface, more than one way to install apps, and more than one way to use the OS.

This is both a good and a bad thing, on one hand you can cater linux to your needs (rather than microsoft forcing a standard on you) but on the other not have one universal approach to using the system .

The terminal however is the closet thing to having a universal standard for linux plus the terminal is such a powerful and versatile tool to use.