Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

"Preparing security options"


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 behem0th

behem0th

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Local time:11:07 PM

Posted 01 May 2016 - 09:29 PM

Today I noticed something strange. When I press ctrl+alt+del on my PC to lock it or go to the task manager, a screen now pops up for maybe half a second that says "preparing security options". Is this normal behavior? It never did it before today. 



BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 britechguy

britechguy

    Been there, done that, got the T-shirt


  • Moderator
  • 7,816 posts
  • ONLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staunton, VA
  • Local time:11:07 PM

Posted 01 May 2016 - 09:52 PM

Yes, mine has always shown that message, but sometimes it's so fast you can't catch it and at other times, when I've got a lot of processing going on, you can definitely read it before the screen with, "Lock - Switch User - Sign Out - Task Manager" shows up.


Brian  AKA  Bri the Tech Guy (website in my user profile) - Windows 10 Home, 64-Bit, Version 1803, Build 17134 

      Memory is a crazy woman that hoards rags and throws away food.

                    ~ Austin O'Malley

 

 

 

              

 


#3 behem0th

behem0th
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Local time:11:07 PM

Posted 01 May 2016 - 10:23 PM

Yes, mine has always shown that message, but sometimes it's so fast you can't catch it and at other times, when I've got a lot of processing going on, you can definitely read it before the screen with, "Lock - Switch User - Sign Out - Task Manager" shows up.

That's what I'm experiencing, it usually lasts a little longer when I try using task manager to close a non-responsive application or leave my computer running for a long time.

 

Cheers.



#4 rakeshgaur4U

rakeshgaur4U

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:08:07 PM

Posted 02 May 2016 - 12:22 AM

In Windows 10, the new action center is where you'll find app notifications and quick actions. But the old action center is still here—it's been renamed Security and Maintenance. And it's still where you go to change your security settings.

In the search box on the taskbar, enter security and maintenance and then select Security and Maintenance.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users