Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

"MPC" Virus- Can't get rid of it!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Liecell

Liecell

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:23 AM

Posted 29 April 2016 - 10:53 PM

NOTE: Please read the update at the end of the post!

Hail!

After a dodgy download, I obtained a virus. I'm not an expert in the area, in fact, this is the first virus I've had, so I apologise if I fail to provide the correct information.

I have installed Avast and I think I have some non-functional version of McAfee. I attempted to install MalwareBytes after the fact, but it seems to be blocking my ability to install it. EDIT: I installed it onto a USB and I can't seem to execute it on that computer either.

The Issues:

My problem is that there are a few problematic files I may have located using Avast's scan that I cannot remove, there seem to be certain actions I cannot perform (such as installing MalwareBytes) and I cannot access the internet (any page I load appears with the error "This site can't be reached - ___'s server DNS address could not be found - DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN". 

The problems I have located: