Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Purchase template: Replacing old laptop

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 darthandy

darthandy

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:45 AM

Posted 27 April 2016 - 01:21 PM

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting so I hope I don't mess anything up! I'm an old guy looking to replace an Acer Aspire 5920G that is on its last legs. This beast had a Core 2 duo T5550 1.83Ghz cpu so I'm not used to blazing speed, as it were.

Laptop or Desktop?

Desktop, this time - the wife has a new laptop so one in the house is plenty.

My budget for the new computer is:

Around $500 Cdn

What are the primary uses for this computer (IE: mail, web browsing, programming, games, etc)?

Email, Facebook, News, photos and working with the photos, music and some gaming .

What software do you intend on using on the computer?

Windows 10, MS office 2000, MS Digital Image Photo Software, various Serif software (Photo, etc.) , Windows Movie Maker, Hitman game series, some older flight simulators (If they work in Windows 10)

Do you play games? If so, what type of games?

As mentioned above.

Do you tend to have a lot of programs running at the same time, or do you close every program when you are done using it?

Usually one or two windows max. On rare occasions there may be 4 or 5.