Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Use old HD for external drive.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DannyBoy1963

DannyBoy1963

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:29 PM

Posted 22 April 2016 - 11:41 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting here,

I recently took out the hard drive of my old laptop.. It was win 7 but I upgraded to win 10.. The monitor got cracked so I decided to scrap it..

I would like to use the old HD for a second drive on my desktop, or storage drive..

I am not sure the procedure.. 

I purchased a case, and plugged it into the desktop, retrieved all my files, now I want to do what? Reformat? I would like to wipe it clean and start fresh.. 

When I have it plugged in, I see 4 additional drives in my This PC section, 

My Desktop is C, D is my DVD drive. My C drive has the recovery in it, not an extra partition for that..

Now the 4 new drives I see are, 

SYSTEM (E), Local Disk (F), RECOVERY (G) HP_TOOLS (H),

What do I do to wipe it clean or reformat to match my desktop or use as a storage drive?

I don't care really what it is, I just hate to throw it out, it has 215 gig of extra space I could be using!! 

Thanks for any help, and by the way, I am not so tech savy so if you can give me a step by step, that would be awesome!!

Again Thanks for any help.

Danny!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Havachat