Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help? Ethernet Network Shortcut?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jason2341

Jason2341

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:12 AM

Posted 22 April 2016 - 07:00 PM

I am extremely new to how Ethernet works and pretty much clueless about network setups.

So I want to setup an ethernet network in my new house which I've discovered to have CAT5e cable in every room's wall with telephone jacks. Each cable just runs to the boiler room in the basement where it's just sitting there, not connected to anything. We don't use a landline.

I want to convert each/most telephone jacks to an ethernet jack connect them to a networking switch in the basement, which then connects to a router in the living room. However I'd rather not drill a hole between floors.

Here lies my question, Can I use the ethernet jack that is right next to the router to go into the uplink port of the switch, which then connects to each bedroom's ethernet jack? Will this work?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 ScathEnfys

ScathEnfys

Bleeping Butterfly

• Members
  • 1,375 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:12 AM

Posted 22 April 2016 - 07:46 PM

Can I use the ethernet jack that is right next to the router to go into the uplink port of the switch, which then connects to each bedroom's ethernet jack? Will this work?