Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Encrypted OS on flash drive? or dual boot?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 usvsthem

usvsthem

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:29 PM

Posted 21 April 2016 - 07:47 AM

Hi,

Been searching high and low but cant seem to find answers to my questions. Bear a complete newbie.

First I was looking into containers and such. The problem, if I've understood, is that data is sstill stored in temp- and swap-files. I want to be able to execute applications to, for exaple, edit Open Office textfiles, store sensetive links, pictures, hide web history and streamapplications.

The first action is ofcoure VPN, fire wall, anti-virus and anti-malware. No problems there.

Ofcoure I could encrypt my system drive (win 10). The issue though, is that I need to be able to quit the OS really fast incase of sudden search warrant and such. I'm on a laptop, so to just unplug it would be useless. And since I want to execute and run appliications I cant have temps and swaps.

Therefor, I'm wondering if it'd be possible to install and run OS on a USB drive? First thought is to run Ubuntu on the USB and encrypt it with the built-in tool.  If needed i could get an external hard drive (still USB-connected though) Could it be done? Any risks?