Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

MMC not responding on network search

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 bartlebee

bartlebee

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:17 AM

Posted 18 April 2016 - 11:36 AM

I am an analyst for a large printer manufacturer and work on setting up and configuring our production print engines. I am not in IT, but I know enough to set up our devices. I rarely run into an issue anymore that I can't resolve, but I am having a one of a kind issue at an account and we in a finger pointing match. I feel I have shown that the issue is on the network or workstation side, but I would rather offer solutions than bicker. I'm hoping someone has seen something similar and can offer an idea on a fix.

Our device uses bi-directional communication when you go into the printer properties to ping our printer, which returns information about the device status. We also have another separate software that opens up to the network to allow us to enter a server name that it pings to confirm a valid license. Anytime I try to setup either the machine or software I am running into a similar (if not the same) issue. My specific issues and troubleshooting are below.