Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

"SMART" Warning for hard drive. Should I worry?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 HobbesD

HobbesD

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:00 PM

Posted 17 April 2016 - 11:23 PM

I've been using a Dell XPS 8700 PC for just barely two years, currently running Windows 10. It has a 2TB standard hard drive and also a small (I think 32 gig?) solid state drive, configured just to speed up the PC/operating system. It came pre-installed with a program called "Intel Rapid Start Technology Manager" that handles that aspect. Anyway, the other day I get a warning message from this Intel Rapid Start Technology Manager that says:

"SATA disk on Controller 0, Port 0: At risk (SMART event)"

I had idea what that meant, but after doing some quick research it seems to indicate that despite the fact that my PC is running fine now, there is a problem with my 2TB drive and it will eventually fail in a matter of days, weeks, or months.