Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Computer Freezes Up

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 docholiday07

• Members
  • 1 posts
  • Local time:09:07 AM

Posted 12 April 2016 - 12:18 AM

Hey there folks, this is my first time posting so please let me know if I miss anything first time around!

So I have been going crazy trying to figure out what is going on with my computer.  It freezes up, seemingly randomly at times, but very specifically when I run a video game called Blade&Soul (this happens reliably, every time during a specific event, and just generally while the game is running).  It freezes randomly over night, as well as while streaming video, playing other games, or occasionally when I'm not doing anything.  Sometimes the speakers buzz, sometimes i get this weird squeeking sequence of beeps that go up in pitch, other times no sound at all.  generally very confusing.

Unfortunately I am not getting any minidumps to check, as my computer is just freezing up, and has to be hard reset in order to turn it off.  Event log from my inspection does not seem relevant other than the "windows did not expect this shutdown" critical error.  Have not had any hard drive corruptions or anything like that.  No graphical bugs while playing games.  I just don't get it.

Rig: Alienware Aurora R3 

CPU:Intel Core i5-2300 @ 2.8ghz

GPUs: 2x Geforce 545 (sli)