Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I changed my computer network settings


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 GMYukonon24s

GMYukonon24s

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:04:19 PM

Posted 11 April 2016 - 07:27 PM

My computer was hooked to the network at work. I unhooked from the network I sign in like normal and it works. I go into the settings in the control panel and change the computer from being on a business network to a home computer. I restart it think I can just sign in no problem but when it restarts its asking for admin password which is a problem because I don't know it. How can I go back and change it back?

Thanks in advance for any help is appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Darktune

Darktune

    Very Purple


  • Members
  • 1,139 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Local time:10:19 PM

Posted 14 April 2016 - 06:23 PM

Hey GMYukonon24s,

 

To me this sounds like your computer was previously connected to a domain environment and you have now moved it to a WORKGROUP. For example when you were on the network in work if you opened "Control Panel\System and Security\System" under "Computer name, domain and workgroup settings" you would have seen something like, 'exampledomain.local' but now you see your PC name, EXAMPLEPCNAME for example.

 

The reason you were able to log into the PC to change it to a workgroup in the first instance is because Windows caches credentials. This allowed you to log in as if you were in work and make the changes you did. 

In regards to the Username/Password you are seeing now this would be the default local administrator account that was set when the PC was first set up outside of the domain environment. In other words, the user name is really EXAMPLEPCNAME\administrator no longer exampledomain\administrator.

I hope this makes sense.

Kind regards,

Darktune


It's very hard to imagine all the crazy things that things really are like. 

Electrons act like waves.. no they don't exactly, they act like particles.. no they don't exactly.

Words and ideas can change the world.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users