Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Am I doing this right?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Pheno^

Pheno^

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:11 AM

Posted 10 April 2016 - 11:12 PM

In about 2 months I'll have an AAS CIS Network Administration degree.  I'm currently studying for my CCNA ICND1/2 composite exam, with plans to go for my CCNP R&S later down the road.

I've also just sparked an interest in Windows Server 2012, Active Directory, and system administration, so I'm now curious about the MCSA and MCSE.

SQL looks pretty cool too but I have NO experience with database administration or SQL programming. (I like too many things I think, lol)

I think I eventually want to get into network security way later down the road.

Anyway, I always get worried that I'm not specializing in the right directions or that my specializations are too broad.

Anyone with experience in the industry have any advice for me? 

Edited by Pheno^, 10 April 2016 - 11:19 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Kilroy

Kilroy

• BC Advisor
  • 3,378 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:11 AM

Posted 11 April 2016 - 02:06 PM

The more you know the more you're worth, provided you can apply your knowledge.