Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I did an msconfig to selected startup and now msconfig isn't available

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 whatamIdoinghere

whatamIdoinghere

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:19 PM

Posted 08 April 2016 - 11:00 PM

I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro c850 with Window 7 Home Premium which has become very slow and freezes, but it works perfectly in Safe Mode so I looked up how to identify the problem and found this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929135 I did what it says under Windows 7 and now when it boots up I get a 'location not available' message that msconfig isnt available, also if I search for msconfig nothing happens. (Pic 1,2,3) How do I get to normal mode now? I only clicked the boxes as shown in the tutorial.
I can access the boot menu and system setup if that helps at all? F2/F12. On system recovery Options I opened system 32 but I have no idea what I am doing so I haven't clicked anything. (Pic 4)
I dont have a restore point set or a restore image, nor can I find the full factory restore option in F8/F12. (Pic 5)
I tried doing a cmd 'sfc/scannow' but get the message that it doesnt recognise 'sfc'.