Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Filtering zip files as spam

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Robert_F

Robert_F

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:11 AM

Posted 29 March 2016 - 12:42 PM

I am a novice when it comes to computers and IT so maybe I am missing something obvious. I did a search and did not find this addressed.

About 10 of the 30 emails I receive everyday include zip files I presume include ramsomeware. I also receive a couple of zip files from legitimate sources over the course of a year. Is there a way to send zip files to a junk mail folder before someone might accidentally open one up? If I could safe list the trusted sources that would be a bonus.

I use Outlook 2016 and a Norton Security Suite that came with the computer. Neither seems to be able to do this. Do I need a different spam software? Any recommendations?

Thank you,

Robert

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Aura

Aura

Bleepin' Special Ops

• Malware Response Team
  • 19,474 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:11 AM

Posted 29 March 2016 - 01:53 PM

About 10 of the 30 emails I receive everyday include zip files I presume include ramsomeware.

Lucky you (from a Malware Hunter perspective) :P