Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Win7 won't boot after update

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Ar-Adunakhor

Ar-Adunakhor

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:59 PM

Posted 23 March 2016 - 05:14 PM

Hello, It's my first time here, and with a grave subject, unfortunately.

Dual boot: Win7 Ultimate 64bit and XP Pro 32bit, both localised.

While updating, at the very last moment of setting up everything (you know, the screen with "don't turn off your pc, stage x of y, n%") info about some error popped up and text about "can not finish the updating process, reverting changes" or something like that (I don;t know the exact English text, as I'm using translated versions). Then it rebooted and the Win7 won't boot now, no screen with the OS selection, it is booting XP only. There were no such problems during/after previous updates.I've tried using the disk, but it won't find the restore points from Win7, and the repair option gives me only info about the versions not being compatible (I've got the original disk, on my PC I've got SP1 installed). Is there any way to revert Win7 to the correct restore point from XP layer? Like mangling a bit with boot files? Is anything not requiring me to reinstall the OS even possible?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 23,976 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:59 AM