Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How to check multiple url exists or not using the unix scripting?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 sathyaraj

sathyaraj

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:05 AM

Posted 08 March 2016 - 01:55 AM

Hi All,

I am new to unix , i want to check the url exists or not and url status .
kindly help me how to do it 

i am using the below one for checking the single url..
curl -s --head http://google.com/  | head -n 1

i want to check multiple url in single execution..

i want to get the status report like below when checking the multiple urls

google.com status code 200 and url exsists
yahoolzaa.com status code 400 and url doesnot exist
gmail.com status code 200 and url exists

kindly help me to get the output with status report pls..

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Guest_hollowface_*

Guest_hollowface_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 09 March 2016 - 03:59 PM

I'm not sure if you're requesting a script, or seeking help writing your own script? It's also unclear to me which OS you are using. If it really is Unix, then I cannot help, as I've never used that OS. I have used some unix-like ones, but most of my experience is with Linux operating systems.

If you'd prefer to write your own script, you might find the chosen answer from ( http://stackoverflow.com/a/25136723 ) helpful as a starting point.