Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Accessing an old HD

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 AmericanJohnny

AmericanJohnny

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:48 PM

Posted 29 February 2016 - 04:55 PM

To start out I'd like to say that I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to computer hardware and I'm not sure I'm posting this in the right place.

Just recently I decided to try and get a few files off on a really old computer that was in my possession (an Inspiron 2500). I pulled the hard drive out of it and am currently using a USB to Sata/IDE adapter to try and access the 2500 HD but whenever I hook it up to my laptop it just appears as a removable hard drive with no name. I get no option to access files on it or at the very least an option to reformat (even though that isn't at all what I want to do). The laptop I am using to try and open the HD is running WIndows 7.

Can anyone help me with this?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 23,235 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:48 PM

Posted 29 February 2016 - 05:06 PM

Have you tries using a different USB port. Open Device Manager. Look for the drive. Is a drive letter assigned to the drive? If not assign a letter.

#3 AmericanJohnny

AmericanJohnny
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  

Posted 29 February 2016 - 05:14 PM