Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Old HP/Seagate HDD convertor?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mrsmccaw

mrsmccaw

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:13 AM

Posted 27 February 2016 - 09:04 PM

Hi, I was wondering if anybody would be able to help me please.

Unfortunately I am not very technical, so if anybody has any clues, please pitch them at me like I am an old great-aunty.

I had an old HP laptop (sometime around 2004), that I somebody salvaged the HDD for.  It has model ST94019A, HP and Seagate logos on it - 40GB.

It won't fit anything in my house so I can view it on my current laptop.  If anybody knows what cable and/or software I need to be able to hook this up to my current HP Spectre, I'd be very grateful.

Attached is a pic of the bit I need to find a converter for.

Cheers :)

Attached File  hdd.jpg   65.3KB   1 downloads

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 24,676 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:13 AM

Posted 27 February 2016 - 09:18 PM

Here is the manual for the drive. I believe you will find that what you see is a plastic adapter that attaches to the 40pin IDE connector. Can you remove it? You would need a USB adapter like this to pull the data. Looking at your image you can see the blue jumper behind the plastic adapter.

232942.png