Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Would I need to upgrade anything besides my graphics card?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ChaosKitty

ChaosKitty

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:20 AM

Posted 23 February 2016 - 12:09 PM

Hello! I'm fairly new to PC so I know very little when it comes to upgrading and such , so bear with me. The PC I have now works fine for playing games such as LoL but when I play MMOs I have to run on low settings. I'm assuming I would need a better graphics card to get better fps but I'm not sure if based on what I have now would I need to upgrade anything else. I'm looking to run on at least high settings but I don't want to spend a ton on the graphics card alone if I would need to upgrade anything else. Recommendations would be appreciated as well, thanks in advance. 

I downloaded Speccy, I'm hoping I did it correctly. 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DJBPace07

DJBPace07

• BC Advisor
  • 4,869 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:20 AM

Posted 23 February 2016 - 12:59 PM

That's actually a good platform to upgrade on with the GA-78LMT-USB3 motherboard.  You can upgrade the CPU and the GPU, this will get you quite far.  I'm using an FX-8350 CPU and a GTX 980 to good results. 

The FX-8320 and the FX-8350 are both compatible with your motherboard, though you may need to update the motherboard's BIOS.