Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows activation after upgrading major hardware

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 KhanRuss

KhanRuss

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:09 PM

Posted 19 February 2016 - 12:00 PM

Hi everyone at BC

I've been using these forums for a few months now and unfortunately have a problem myself and needed to create my first post.

I've searched the forums but couldn't find an answer, so here goes:

I'm currently looking to upgrade my computer to the new skylake cpu and am worried about windows being a real pain in the a**e as it was when I first got an SSD, which required almost 3 days to get working properly. Anyways, this is what I'm currently running:

Current

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (this was from the free upgrade from windows 7)

CPU: Intel Core i3 4130

Mobo: Asus h81m-plus

Ram: Crucial 8gb ddr3

GPU: AMD Radeon r9 380 (MSI 4gb version)

PSU: Corsair cx600m

Case: NZXT h440

Storage: Samsung 850 evo (128gb)

Seagate Barracuda (4tb)

CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 evo

New Parts

CPU: Intel Core i5 6600k

Mobo: MSI Z170 Gaming Pro Carbon

Ram: Corsair 8gb ddr4

PSU: Corsair rm650x

Also have the NZXT hue+ and grid+ v2

Now, I've been in touch with Microsoft support, and unfortunately they were very little help with the matter.

Question