Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Reinstalling WindowsXP Operating System

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 delut

delut

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:11 PM

Posted 15 February 2016 - 02:40 AM

Hi. My name is Delut and this is my first time on any forum.

I accidentally deleted critical software on my Hewlett-Packard Pavillion Model 700. In an attempt to fix it I installed the WindowsXP recovery disks (all 8) that I received from Hewlett-Packard. After installing them I get the following message:
"The system is not fully installed. Please run setup again.". No matter how many times I run setup I get the same result. Can someone offer a possible solution?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Agouti

Agouti

• Members
  • 1,548 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:11 PM

Posted 15 February 2016 - 07:30 AM

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/320279

#3 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 24,418 posts
  •  

Posted 15 February 2016 - 09:55 AM

There may be an issue with the recovery disks themselves. If Agouti's link does not solve the issue then see if tapping F10 or possibly F11  at boot will bring up the HP Factory Reset Menu. This is only possible if you have an intact Recovery Partition on the hard drive.

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/bph07145

#4 delut

delut
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •