Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dying HDD to transfer / clone?

• Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 Kiminoto2223

Kiminoto2223

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:08 AM

Posted 07 February 2016 - 06:10 PM

Disclaimer: I have no knowledge of what I'm doing! Please advise!

After many years, my HDD is finally starting to pack in.

I am no longer able to use backup software, because apparently there is corruption on the drive. I'm scared to shut down / restart the system in case that's it, and it doesn't boot again. I've had issues restarting in the past, I guess I should have taken the warning signs. Oh well, I didn't.

I have made a manual back up of all my files by clicking and dragging them onto an external drive, so now they're safely on my other computer. But the problem is, I don't want to lose all my drivers or other stuff I've installed to the system in the past, which I no longer have access to anymore. I know what a pain reinstalling drivers can be. Also I have some software (my AV) that, stupidly, I've lost my license keys for.

I'm also worried about my components not working when I reboot, like the graphics card, etc. Is that a thing?