Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

BIOS question

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Herbert667

Herbert667

• Members
  • 45 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:03 AM

Posted 03 February 2016 - 03:00 PM

As I told you before I am a newbie,therefore my questions can seem weird/stupid

You helped me a couple of days ago with installing the BIOS and now I have two more questions:

My motherboard is GA-Z77X-UD5H,the manual is virtually impossible to read as it is a reversed print.

But here are the questions:

1) I always want to boot from the DVD drive and I wonder do I have to choose the P5 ( STI..) or the P1 ( HL...) ?

2) When I select a boot option I have to click F10 ( to save )  And here is the crucial question:

Will the computer remember those settings  for the next sessions or do I have to go through the same

procedure again ?

3) How can I determine if the computer boots from the DVD ?

Thanks again

Herbert667

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 alatta01

alatta01

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:03 AM

Posted 03 February 2016 - 03:08 PM

Herbert - those settings are in the BIOS, typically under Boot Devices and Boot Order. Set your optical drive to the 1st device and save it. Those settings are then stored in non-volatile RAM and will remain in CMOS for a very long time...  

#3 RolandJS

RolandJS

• Members