Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How do I install on my debian server? SSH isn't supported.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sanisage

sanisage

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:12 PM

Posted 21 January 2016 - 02:26 AM

I'm new to hosting... and apparently my hosting plan won't support ssh unless I were to upgrade to dedicated hosting. I need to install a few things on the server but I can't find a way to do this without sending ssh commands.

I really don't know where to start looking for a solution to this problem... is anyone able to steer me in the right direction.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DeimosChaos

DeimosChaos

• BC Advisor
  • 1,420 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:12 AM

Posted 21 January 2016 - 08:30 AM

How do you log on? And what commands are you trying to use?

OS - Ubuntu 14.04/16.04 & Windows 10
Custom Desktop PC / Lenovo Y580 / Sager NP8258 / Dell XPS 13 (9350)

#3 sanisage

sanisage
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  

Posted 21 January 2016 - 09:46 AM

How do you log on? And what commands are you trying to use?

Typically I would use putty to connect... but the host doesn't allow ssh access, so I can't even connect. I need to install Tokyo Cabinet & Tyrant and a few other things on the server.