Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Looking for advice about my security set-up

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 aaandy

aaandy

• Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:23 AM

Posted 20 January 2016 - 04:28 AM

Hi everyone,

I'd like to know your thoughts about my security set-up for my computer. I'm not a tech expert, but I'm reasonably comfortable with using computers. I use a number of security programs rather than just one - hoping for a kind of crossfire effect, i.e. if one program misses something then hopefully another one won't. 

I use, and prefer, free products. 

Currently I'm using: 

AVG Free

MalwareBytes Free

MalwareBytes Anti-rootkit

Kapersky TDSS Killer

One of my concerns is that in MalwareBytes Free under 'Detection and Protection' it says 'Malware Protection Disabled' - does this then mean it is essentially not working? I'm confused on that one. 

I'm considering using Avast instead of MalwareBytes. Any thoughts? I heard it could interfere with AVG...

Essentially, I don't mind using multiple programs, but I'd prefer they be 1) free and 2) reasonably comprehensive overall - i.e that amongst the multiple security programs I use, they cover malware, adware, rootkits, etc etc to as wide an extent as possible. In short, I want to be as secure as I can be.

Any input greatly welcomed - thanks!

Andrew