Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need advice...should I get MCSA?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mattg24

mattg24

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:56 PM

Posted 17 January 2016 - 05:04 PM

Hello,

I got my associate degree in Computer Technology Integration in May 2014.  Since then, I have had very little success getting my career started in IT.  At the time I graduated, I had A+, Network+, and ACE certifications, and received very little interest for the jobs I was applying for.  Since then, my A+ and Network+ certifications have expired, and having practically no real job experience in the IT field, I feel like my chances of getting hired are getting slimmer as time goes on.

I've recently been thinking about going for my MCSA to have something new to put on my resume and show that I am staying current with technology.  Right now I'm mainly looking for entry-level desktop support type jobs.

Would this be a good move to jump-start my career?  Seeing that having A+ and Network+ certs didn't seem to help much before, I feel like getting re-certified in those would be a waste of time and money for me.  Is the MCSA more desirable to employers than the CompTIA certs?

Any input is greatly appreciated!

Matt

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Kilroy

Kilroy

• BC Advisor
  • 3,335 posts
  •