Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer frequently hangs, questions related to replacing hard drive.

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 William_D

William_D

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:51 PM

Posted 14 January 2016 - 01:13 AM

I am a U.S. citizen living long-term in India.  I am basically self-taught in the use of a computer, and my understanding of many issues is still very limited.

I have several issues with my 6-year-old Dell Inspiron desktop (64-bit Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93 GHz processor, 4 GB memory, 320 GB original Western Digital hard drive) that I would appreciate some help to resolve.

Advice from local computer technicians is often unreliable, and there are no other foreigners here whom I can ask for answers or advice.

Here are the issues:

1.            Based on advice from CHIP computer magazine, I had Windows 7 operating system (recently upgraded, by Microsoft, to Widows 10) and Microsoft Office installed on my computer’s C Drive.

I install most other programs on D Drive.

I store my personal documents, films, music, and pictures in separate folders on E Drive.

The last time he reinstalled the operating system, a local computer technician here criticized and told me that I should store all programs on C Drive—along with the operating system and Microsoft Office.