Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PC Vs. Mac

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Dotlife

Dotlife

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:40 AM

Posted 05 January 2016 - 04:02 PM

I don't really know where to post this.

I'm a salesman at Bestbuy in computers and I can't really justify having someone buy a 2000 dollar Mac when an 800 dollar PC will not only suffice but kick the crap out of the mac.

Besides the longevity of the macs and not being a root admin on the system thereby being less vulnerable to viruses and such, in what circumstances would someone get a mac vs a pc?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 TheJokerz

TheJokerz

• Members
  • 286 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:40 AM

Posted 05 January 2016 - 04:18 PM

Depends on the use.  I see a lot of macs being used for music production ect.  I also see PC being used in the work environment, for everyday users (ie office buildings).  And macs IMO are not any more secure than a PC, the malware developers have not been targeting macs because not nearly as many people use them as Microsoft (it is not as lucrative to target the lesser popular os). 

I also concur with you that Macs are ridiculously overpriced for what you get.

utl8q0-5.png

#3 ScathEnfys

ScathEnfys

Bleeping Butterfly

• Members
  • 1,375 posts
  •  

Posted 05 January 2016 - 04:21 PM